Washington State DUI Penalties

If convicted of a DUI in the state of Washington there are mandatory minimum penalties that must and will be enforced. The degree of your particular punishment will vary depending on the degree of offense that you are charged with. In all DUI charges in Washington there are various punishments available depending on the specifics of your case.

The basic variations in penalties depend on a) if your blood alcohol level is less than 0.15% or if there is no chemical test result or b) your blood alcohol level is greater than or equal to 0.15%. Within each of these two basic divisions the minimum penalty will depend on if it is a) your first offense or you have no prior offense within the past seven years or b) you have one prior offense within the past seven years or c) you have two or three prior offenses within the past seven years.

Blood alcohol level is less than 0.15%/no chemical test result

If this is your first offense or you have no previous offenses within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 24 consecutive hours or 15 days of electronic home monitoring, there is no mandatory electronic home monitoring, the minimum fines are $866, there is a 90 day license suspension, an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

If this is your second offense within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 30 consecutive days, there is a 60 day mandatory electronic home monitoring period, the minimum fines are $1,121, there is a two year license revocation, an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

If you have two or three prior offenses within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 90 consecutive days, there is a 120 day mandatory electronic home monitoring period, the minimum fines are $1,971, there is a three year license revocation, an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

Blood alcohol level is greater than or equal to 0.15%

If this is your first offense or you have no previous offenses within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 2 consecutive days or 30 days of electronic home monitoring, there is a 30 day mandatory electronic home monitoring period, the minimum fines are $1,121, there is a one year license revocation (two years if you refused a blood alcohol test), an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

If this is your second offense within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 45 days, there is a 90 day mandatory electronic home monitoring period, the minimum fines are $1,546, there is a 900 day license revocation (three years if you refused a blood alcohol test), an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

If you have two or three prior offenses within the past seven years the mandatory minimum jail time is 120 days, there is a 150 day mandatory electronic home monitoring period, the minimum fines are $2,821, there is a four year license revocation, an ignition interlock license and device installation is required and drug/alcohol counseling or treatment is as ordered by the courts.

Washington-State-Attorney-DUI

Washington State Attorney DUI Lawyer